FLOWERS, chief divisions

For propagation purposes the gardener can roughly divide plants into: Annuals, which grow from seed, bloom and die all in one season. Biennials, which grow the first year, bloom and die the second season. Perennials, which continue to grow from year to year, producing blossom and increasing with age.

Of flowers for the open plots, two other divisions are: Hardy, seed which can be sown with success in the open. HalJ-Hardy, where seed has to be sown under glass, or during the heat of summer. These two divisions are mostly marked on the seed packets.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.